6 Ways to Experience a God Moment

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Faith, Lutheran Grilled Cheese

Sometimes it is hard to know when we actually experience a God moment in our life.  Not only that, but most of the time we are too busy with the day-to-day tasks of living that we don’t fully prepare ourselves to fully immerse ourselves in the greatness of God.

Here are six things that we can do everyday to prepare ourselves for the God Moments which surround us everyday.

1. Begin each day with God.

Sometimes I find it hard to start my day off with God.  With two young children I spend most of my morning getting the children up, showered and dressed before I send them downstairs for breakfast.

However, once I get them downstairs I have an opportunity to open myself up to God and what God has planned for me. I do tend to start my day off with God through music, scripture and reflection.

For example, meditate on a hymn, music is a way that I strongly connect with God.  I love to sing, play piano or guitar and just let myself go and connect with God.

Another way is through reading scripture.  I read the Bible a lot.  I read it to prepare myself for Bible studies, my sermon or other church related tasks.  It is easy for me to let my personal devotions take a backseat.  But every time I do spend some time immersing myself in God’s Word I feel an immediate connection with God.

2. Pray.

I love talking with God.  Since God knows me inside and out I feel like I don’t have anything to hide.  As I read scripture, sing a song and reflect on what I am reading I am constantly in conversation with God.

An easy pattern to follow is to first Confess any known sin and pray for your needs and the needs of others.  Don’t be afraid to ask God questions, any question on your heart.

God has promised that He will never leave us nor forsake us. Therefore tell Him your innermost thoughts. Ask Him for help in every difficulty. Nothing is too small to matter; nothing is too great.

4. Have a mindset of being thankful

Walking around with a negative attitude will not enable us to open our heart to God.  Instead try to focus on the blessings God has put before us in our lives.  Learn to thank God in every situation. I believe that being thankful produces joy and that joy will lead to the ability to experience a God Moment.

5.  End the Day in meditation 

Most of us experience so much during the day.  Most of us start our days early in the morning and don’t end until we crash in our bed 10-12 hours later.  Sometimes we are so busy we don’t see the God Moment right in front of us.  As we end our day it is helpful to start to process all that we experienced and to thank God for all that He has blessed us with throughout the day.

You just finished reading 6 Ways to Experience a God Moment! Consider leaving a comment!

Thanks for reading on Lutheran Grilled Cheese. I use The Standard Theme for my blog. You should too!

article-clipper-vert.png  

LutheranGrilledCheese?d=yIl2AUoC8zA LutheranGrilledCheese?d=qj6IDK7rITs LutheranGrilledCheese?i=8iWN41vh5JY:bYi6
8iWN41vh5JY

Leave a Reply

